The Museo del Paesaggio del Lago di Como (Museum of the Landscape of Lake Como) is located in the Villa Mainona in Tremezzo, the former residence of the Mainoni family, and it is focused on the presentation of the environmental and cultural values of the Lake Como landscape with a special focus on the area of Tremezzina.
The rooms host a collection of ancient prints of the lake, which offers a fascinating view of the lake, and a multimedia system with tables touch screen to compare maps and historical images with the current land use.
The architectural complex includes the park, the villa, some annex buildings and a tower. The current complex is the result of a series of changes and extensions to the original planimetric system, consisting of a central building with a rectangular plan developed on three floors on which are grafted two wings, one linear development to the north-east, also on three floors, and one consisting of two orthogonal arms to the south-west. The villa is now home to the museum.
In the rooms of the museum there is a collection of ancient prints of Lake Como from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, granted on loan by the descendants of Giorgio Bordoli Crivelli Visconti. The prints offer a fascinating look at the landscape of Lario through the illustration of the main places (including Como, Cernobbio, Tremezzo, Bellagio) and the most famous villas (Villa Carlotta, Villa del Balbianello, Villa Olmo, Villa d′Este).
The Museo del Paesaggio del Lago di Como has a multimedia system for the presentation of the cultural and environmental heritage of the Lake Como area, which allows you to compare maps and historical images with the current land use and offers descriptions and information on the main monuments of Tremezzina.
A special section of the multimedia system is dedicated to the Cinema sul Lario (Cinema on the Lake) and includes short films, summary cards of the films shot on the lake and an indication of the places which hosted the filming (from Alfred Hitchcock's The Pleasure Garden of 1925 to Star Wars Episode II and Ocean′s Twelwe).
The villa "Mainona" is one of the first historically documented examples of a manor house with a large garden built along the shore of Lake Como. The villa was built in the second half of the 17th century for the Mainoni family, originally from Intignano, a hamlet of Tremezzo now known as Antignano.
The system of the villa, which remained almost unchanged until the 20th century, consisted of a quadrangular main body with two side wings. Around the building there was a large garden that was used for the production of citrus fruits (lemons, citrons) through the construction of special buildings for the shelter of plants.
In 1827 the last successor of the Mainoni family, Luigia Mainoni, decided to sell the villa to her son Giacomo, and daughters Teresa and Carolina Scorpioni. After other changes of ownership in the twentieth century, the villa, now known as "Bolivian", was used as the headquarters of the kindergarten "Mina Moscow".
As part of the "Magistri Comacini" Framework Agreement for Territorial Development, the buildings and their parks and gardens have been restored to create the headquarters of the Museo del Paesaggio del Lago di Como, as well as exhibition spaces and areas dedicated to communication, quality training and professional updating.