[Skip to content]

Please note that all scheduled events may be subject to change or cancellation due to national order about coronavirus. Please contact the organizers directly for more information about single events.

FAI Spring Days 2020

Various places, Tremezzina

“The appointment with the FAI Spring Days is postponed. We will return to live the biggest square party dedicated to Cultural Heritage when the health emergency is back. At the moment we can only wait to know the evolution of the national measures to evaluate the real possibilities of identifying a next date to be communicated to you. In the meantime, continue to follow us on our social channels to stay informed about news and updates. And then it will be even more beautiful to rediscover the beauty of our wonderful Italy, which we are missing more than ever”.
FAI – Fondo Ambiente Italiano

The expected FAI Spring is only postponed. We are waiting for you!

The FAI Spring Days this year are postponed on a date to be defined.
During these special days FAI, the Italian National Trust opens its hidden treasures to the public to celebrate the Italian cultural heritage.
It’s a unique opportunity to discover churches, villas, castles, historical towns, gardens, and nature trails often closed to the public, thanks to the the work of volunteers.

After the big success of last years, Lake Como is ready to welcome the visitors that will take the opportunity to discover the hidden gems of Lake Como: the Villa del Balbianello, with its spectacular gardens right down to the edge of the lake and the Torre del Soccorso, a fortified tower located on a rocky outcrop above the village of Ossuccio, with an amazing view over the Comacina Island and Lake Como.

FAI Spring Days in Lake Como / 2020 Program

Keep following us and be the first to know the full program of the Festival of San Giovanni 2020.

Subscribe to Newsletter

You will receive every week all the events on Lake Como.

Villa del Balbianello

Via Comoedia, 5, Tremezzina (CO)

From 10:00 to 18:00 (last park entrance at 17:00 / last villa entrance at 16:30*, subject to availability)
*Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Suggested contribution from: € 5,00
Visits in foreign languages: English

The gardens of Villa Balbianello are open to free offer while the interior of the Villa can be visited only and exclusively by members of the FAI, participating in a guided tour of 60 minutes, with the possibility of registering on site.

Lake view of Villa del Balbianello

Villa del Balbianello - Lake Como

Torre del Soccorso

From 10:00 to 18:00

Suggested contribution from: € 3,00

To get there, follow the mule track that starts from via alla Torre a Ossuccio (Tremezzina), not far from the Church of Sant’Agata and Sisinnio. Also suggested is the panoramic walk that leads to this enchanting tower.

Torre del Soccorso

Torre del Soccorso - FAI - Ossuccio

View from the roof of Torre del Soccorso
Isola Comacina dalla Torre del Soccorso

Spring FAI days 2019 – Special openings in Lake Como

Villa Pizzo – Cernobbio

Via Regina, 48, Cernobbio (CO)

  • Saturday: Guided tours at 10:00 – 12:00 and 15:00 (last admission 17:00)
  • Sunday: Guided tours at 11:00 – 15:00 (last admission 17:00)

Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Suggested contribution from: € 3,00
Visits in foreign languages: English
Note for the visit: there are no parking possibilities in the area. The only parking, large and close (and free), is that of Villa Erba, and then continue on foot (about 20 min).
For those who take the bus there is a stop just after Villa d’Este. Access for the disabled is not possible.

Villa Pizzo boasts very ancient origins. In 1435, the Como marquee Giovanni Muggiasca bought a vast plot of land on which he had a modest rural building built. In 1630, because of the plague, the Muggiasca took refuge there and promoted a restructuring campaign. The last of the Muggiasca family to live in the villa was Gian Battista, then Bishop of Como who left it as an inheritance to the Sant’Anna Hospital. Auctioned, the property was purchased by engineer Bonzanini on behalf of the Viceroy Ranieri of Habsburg who made it his home. This was one of the periods of greatest splendor of the villa, frequented by nobles and men of culture. In 1871 it was taken over by the Volpi Bassani family.

Villa Pizzo Cernobbio

Gallium College: the Library

Via Gallio 1, Como

  • Saturday: 10:00 – 17:30
  • Sunday: 10:00 – 17:30

Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Suggested contribution from: € 3,00

Villa Parravicini Revel

Via Museo Giovio, 6, Como

  • Saturday: 14:00 – 17:30
  • Sunday: 09:30 – 12:00

Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Suggested contribution from: € 3,00
Note: entrance from the promenade of Villa Olmo
Entrance for FAI members only, with the possibility of registering on site

Villa Parravicini Revel is one of the most important buildings of the eighteenth century built by the rich Milanese nobility on the banks of the lake. In 1902, the villa that until then had belonged to the d’Adda family, was purchased by General Genoa Thaon de Revel, who enriched the facade with decorative frames on the windows. On his death he left the villa to his daughter Ottavia, not married, but who always lived in the villa with her sister Sabina married to Emiliano Parravicini di Parravicino. Until 1927 the villa was used as a summer residence by the whole family, from which it took the name of Parravicini Revel. The interior consists of four large halls and is embellished with fine frescoed ceilings, mosaic floors and original furnishings that make the atmosphere particularly intimate and welcoming.

Villa Parravicini Revel - Como

Villa Passalacqua – Moltrasio

Via Besana, 59, Moltrasio (CO)

  • Saturday: 10:00 – 17:00
  • Sunday: 10:00 – 17:00

Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Suggested contribution from: € 3,00
Note for the visit: it is advisable to reach the Villa by lake or by bus, there are no parking spaces in the area and during the weekend the road is very busy. The only access to the Villa is from the gate by the lake. There is no access for the disabled.

Villa Lucini Passalacqua in Moltrasio is one of the largest residences on Lake Como. In neoclassical style, it is spread over three floors and covers an area of almost 30,000 m². It was built by the Odescalchi family from the second half of the eighteenth century on the ruins of an ancient monastery. In 1787 Count Andrea Passalacqua bought the property and entrusted the extension project to the architect Felice Soave. The decorations of the halls were made by Giocondo Albertolli, the frescoes on the ceilings are works of Andrea Appiani, valuable is the painting of the Madonna and Child that the artist made in 1790. The magnificent park of Villa Passalacqua is composed of terraces that reach the waters of Lake Como. A classic Italian garden with regular flowerbeds, pools and water features, steps and paths surrounded by greenery connect the terraces. The vegetation is lush, we find olive trees, cypresses, cedars, palms, forests of roses and camellias.

Villa Passalacqua – Moltrasio

Villa Fogazzaro Roi

Via Antonio Fogazzaro, 14, Valsolda (CO)

  • Saturday: 10:00 – 18:00 (last admission 17:00)
  • Sunday: 10:00 – 18:00 (last admission 17:00)

Warning: in the case of large numbers of people, the entrances may be suspended before the indicated closing time

Note: Visits to the villa are always accompanied by guides inside the villa.
Duration of visit: about 30 minutes.
Reservation: +39 335 7275054
Suggested contribution from: € 5,00

Villa Fogazzaro Roi, with typically nineteenth-century features both for the overall style and for the small proportions of the rooms, was modified in the fifties and sixties of the twentieth century to meet the needs of Giuseppe Roi, great-grandson of Fogazzaro and last owner. New bathrooms and bedrooms were created to accommodate the numerous guests, and a refined and meticulous layout was designed.

Special initiatives

Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 March, 10:00 – 18:00, the Apprenisti Ciceroni of the Istituto d’Istruzione Superiore Ezio Vanoni of Menaggio will accompany the public, arriving in Villa Fogazzaro, to discover other important local realities, artistic and architectural heritage, including the most beautiful villages in the valley and the main churches: church of San Martino in the village of Castello and church of Santa Maria Annunciata in the village of Albogasio Inferiore.

General notes

Parking spaces are limited. Sunday, March 24 boat service from Porlezza to Oria – Villa Fogazzaro Roi, (navigation time 25 minutes). Hours: 11.00 / 13.00 / 14.00 / 15.00 / 16.00 Departure boat from the pier of Porlezza to Oria Hours: 11.30 / 13.30 / 14.30 / 15.30 / 16.30 Departure boat from the pier of Oria to Porlezza Adult fare: € 14.00 (round trip) Reduced rate for children (6-16): € 7.00 (round trip) Purchase of the ticket on the boat (payment in cash or credit card).

Villa Fogazzaro

Other Events

Sorry, there are currently no upcoming events

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay updated on the events of the week! Subscribe